1. Amazing Experiences

12 05 2011

I came across a list of things to write about, so I’m going to try to do each one (there are 80 total). Here goes:

What is the most amazing thing you have ever seen, heard, or experienced?

I’m going to answer with two things, firstly: something that amazes me frequently and, secondly: the most recent “amazing” event I’ve experienced.

First:

This may sound mushy, but I’m dating a wonderful man. My amazement comes to me in waves. I generally think about him, us, or how he makes me feel, and I can’t help smile. The feeling comes in waves, I often think of something stupid I bother him with or a little quirk I love and it ignites this feeling that seems to take over my body… it’s cheesy, but it’s a remarkable thing.

I found another human being who accepts me for me – the good and bad – and loves me for who I actually am.  The feeling that brings me sweeps me off my feet and takes my breath away daily.


Second:

For those that don’t know, I’m currently trying to “train” for a 5k. Some may scoff, but I’m a big guy and I’ve never been a runner. 8 years of soccer, a year each of football, track/field, and swimming didn’t really make a runner out of me.

Anyway, I’m using a program called “Couch to 5k” which is designed to get you from not running at all to a 5k in 9 weeks.  I often stick to a couple paths but after a rough day at work, I decided to run a long (lonely) road by my house. [To put things in perspective, my runs are typically 2.15 miles – when I ran that road, I got home just over 2.85 miles.]

Since I’ve found running to be therapeutic I decided on a float indie rock soundtrack to my run: Weathervanes by Freelance Whales. I pushed through than run, honestly I don’t know how.

I live near a large grouping of forest preserves so I have some lovely scenery to run by. As I headed home, running mainly on fumes, one of my favorite songs began to play “Generator ^ First Floor,” almost helping my drift back home. The road I was running featured a drive sandwiched between forest, with a clearing behind the road line of trees. In the clearing next to me, probably only 10 feet away through a thin bunching of trees were a family of deer munching away, four or five of them.

That alone was beautiful, but the setting of the sunset behind me framed everything perfectly. The busy road bustling two feet from my left and a prime example of life and nature ten on my right was amazing. I immediately felt refreshed and smiled, laughing to myself – the cares of my day rolling off my shoulders.

Afterward I found jogging the rest of the way home to be quiet easy.


Actions

Information

2 responses

12 05 2011
bettina

Gust, I love this!! Not to be creepily stalking you on fbook or anything, but seriously, you are a great writer. I think it’s great that you still take time to genuinely love moments and feelings. I guess my life has been so crazy lately that I’ve forgotten to take a breath and really see beauty in things. Thanks for reminding me 🙂

12 05 2011
Driftwood

Heh, Facebook stalking isn’t creepy anymore. And I’ve had a lot of issues missing those grand moments; I guess I missed enough that I caught myself putting too much stock into less important things, like Plant articles. 😛

Thanks for the lovely compliments/comments as well! (See you’re not too busy to make a nerd happy!)

Leave a comment